Thursday, September 07, 2006

No Love for Angry Angie

From Roll Call:

DCCC’s A-List Coming to Town
By Lauren W. WhittingtonRoll Call

September 7, 2006House Democrats are planning to host their top
challenger candidates on Capitol Hill next Wednesday for an event designed to
quicken the drumbeat for Democratic chances of taking back the House this fall.
Sept. 13 is being dubbed the “March to the Majority” day, when candidates from
around the country who have been selected for the Democratic Congressional
Campaign Committee’s “Red to Blue” program will be in town to meet with the
House Democratic Caucus, DCCC staff and relevant interest groups, as well as to
attend a fundraising reception that night.

“American families are looking for a change from the Republican mantra of
‘stay the course’ and these New Direction Democrats will deliver that come
November,” said DCCC spokeswoman Sarah Feinberg.

A March to the Majority reception will be held at the Sewall-Belmont House
on Capitol Hill on Wednesday night. A minimum $250 contribution is required,
with the proceeds going to the Red to Blue program recipients. T

he DCCC has announced two rounds of Red to Blue recipients, totaling 34
candidates. A third round is expected soon. Candidates selected for the program
get additional help with fundraising and campaign strategy from the committee.

The current Red to Blue candidates, all of whom are invited to next week’s
event are: Michael Arcuri (New York’s 24th), Bruce Braley (Iowa’s 1st), Darcy
Burner (Washington’s 8th), Phyllis Busansky (Florida’s 9th), Chris Carney
(Pennsylvania’s 10th), Joe Courtney (Connecticut’s 2nd), John Cranley (Ohio’s
1st), Jill Derby (Nevada’s 2nd), Joe Donnelly (Indiana’s 2nd), Tammy Duckworth
(Illinois’ 6th), Brad Ellsworth (Indiana’s 8th), Diane Farrell (Connecticut’s
4th), Kirsten Gillibrand (New York’s 20th), Tessa Hafen (Nevada’s 3rd), Baron
Hill (Indiana’s 9th), Christine Jennings (Florida’s 13th), Phil Kellam
(Virginia’s 2nd), Mary Jo Kilroy (Ohio’s 15th), Ron Klein (Florida’s 22nd), Nick
Lampson (Texas’ 22nd), Ken Lucas (Kentucky’s 4th), Patricia Madrid (New Mexico’s
1st), Harry Mitchell (Arizona’s 5th), Lois Murphy (Pennsylvania’s 6th), Patrick
Murphy (Pennsylvania’s 8th), Joe Sestak (Pennsylvania’s 7th), Heath Shuler
(North Carolina’s 11th), Zack Space (Ohio’s 18th), Linda Stender (New Jersey’s
7th), Mike Weaver (Kentucky’s 2nd), Peter Welch (Vermont’s At-large), Patty
Wetterling (Minnesota’s 6th) and Charlie Wilson (Ohio’s 6th).

No Angie to be seen...

No comments: